menu

Program

* Please make sure that you enter your full name and affiliation at entrance to the Zoom meeting room. e.g. Hyung Mok Lee (Seoul National University).
* The microphones of all participants will be muted by default at entrance.
* Please use ”raise hand” button and wait until the chair gives you a voice or leave a chat message when you ask a question or give comments to a presenter. Otherwise, please make sure that your microphones keep muted.

Privacy Policy:
All sessions of KIW8 will be audio and video recorded and the recordings will be publicly available by the LOC under the consent of the presenters. This means that names, conversations, messages, and videos of all participants (if they turn on their cameras) will be recorded. By entering the Zoom meeting rooms, it is considered that you agree on the collection and on the processing of your personal data and on the publication of the audio and video recordings by the LOC. Recording any session of KIW8 by individual participants is NOT allowed.

Time zone examples:
13:00 KST = 00:00 EDT, 04:00 UTC, 06:00 CEST, 09:30 IST, 12:00 CST, 14:00 AEST
15:00 KST = 02:00 EDT, 06:00 UTC, 08:00 CEST, 11:30 IST, 14:00 CST, 16:00 AEST
17:00 KST = 04:00 EDT, 08:00 UTC, 10:00 CEST, 13:30 IST, 16:00 CST, 18:00 AEST

You can convert the time for your city at the following website:
https://www.worldtimebuddy.com

Press CTRL+F5 if the time table looks funny to you.
July 7 (Wednesday)
Invited Talk Contributed Talk Abstract Presentation File Presentation Video
13:00 - 13:55 KST Opening (chair : Hyung Mok Lee)
13:00 - 13:05 Opening Hyung Mok Lee (Seoul National Univ.)
13:05 - 13:15 Opening Speech Takaaki Kajita (ICRR)
13:15 - 13:25 Congratutory Remark In-Soo Yuk (KASI Vice-President)
13:25 - 13:55
Women's Leadership in STEM
Hyo-Suk Lim (KARI, KWSE President)
13:55 - 14:10 Break Time
14:10 - 15:40 KST LVK Status (chair : Chunglee Kim)
14:10 - 14:25
KAGRA Status
Hisaaki Shinkai (Osaka Institute of Technology)
14:25 - 14:55
Virgo Status
Raffaele Flaminio (LAPP)
14:55 - 15:10
Status of KAGRA Calibration System Upgrade Toward O4
Dan Chen (NAOJ)
15:10 - 15:25
On Improving Glitch Classification Performance for Gravitational Wave Detection using Generative Adversarial Networks
Alex P. Leung (MUST)
15:25 - 15:40
Status of KAGRA Cryogenics
Takafumi Ushiba (ICRR)
15:40 - 16:00 Break Time
16:00 - 16:45 KST Computing / MMA (chair : Ray-Kuang Lee)
16:00 - 16:30
Multi-Messenger Astronomy Efforts in Korea: GW EM Counterpart Korean Observatory (GECKO)
Myungshin Im (Seoul National Univ.)
16:30 - 16:45
Rapid Generation of Kilonova Light Curves Using Variational Autoencoder
Surojit Saha (NTHU)
16:45 - 17:00 Break Time
17:00 - 18:00 KST Poster Session (chair : Hisaaki Shinkai)
17:00 - 17:30
Poster Summary
2 min talk
P1
Modelling Frequency Domain Inspiral-merger-ringdown Waveforms for Eccentric Binary Black Hole Mergers
Pranav Satheesh (Indian Institute of Technology Madras)
P2
GECKO Optical Follow-up Observation of Three Binary Black Hole Merger Events
Joonho Kim (Seoul National Univ.)
P3
Status of the Frequency Dependent Squeezing Experiment in TAMA
Marc Eisenmann (NAOJ)
P4
Determination of the Laser Power on the Photosensors for the IMC Instrumented Baffle
Alba Romero-Rodriguez (IFAE)
P5
Effects of Lightning Strokes on KAGRA Observatory
Tatsuki Washimi (NAOJ)
P6
Measurement of Internal Stress from KAGRA Sized Sapphire Substrates
Simon Zeidler (Rikkyo Univ.)
P7
Study on an Efficient Template Placement Algorithm for CBC Searches in GW Data
Takashi Kato (ICRR)
P8
A Distinguish Method of Binary Black Hole and Black Hole Encounter Gravitational Waves using Machine Learning
Weichangfeng Guo (Beijing Normal Univ.)
P9
Mass-spin Re-Parameterization for Rapid PE of Inspiral Gravitational-Wave Signals
Eunsub Lee (ICRR)
P10
Deep Generative Models of Gravitational Waveforms via Conditional Autoencoder
Chung-Hao Liao (National Taiwan Normal Univ.)
P11
Optimizing Parameters of Information-Theoretic Correlation Measurement for Multi-Channel Time Series Datasets in Gravitational-Wave Detectors
Piljong Jung (NIMS)
17:30 - 18:00
Poster Discussion @ Slack
July 8 (Thursday)
Invited Talk Contributed Talk Abstract Presentation File Presentation Video
11:00 - 12:00 KST Public Talk (in Korean) (chair : Hyung Mok Lee)
Ten Questions for Gravitational Waves and Outlook
Gungwon Kang (Chung-Ang Univ.)
13:00 - 15:45 KST Gravitational Wave Science (chair : Zhoujian Cao)
13:00 - 13:30
Searching for the Giants: Search for Intermediate Mass Black Holes in the 3rd Observing Run of Advanced LIGO-Virgo
Debnandini Mukherjee (Penn State Univ.)
13:30 - 14:00
The Gravitational-Wave Discoveries of Neutron Star - Black Hole Binary Mergers
Tanja Hinderer (Universitet Utrecht)
14:00 - 14:15
Observing Neutron Star-Black Hole Binaries with Gravitational Waves
Leo Tsukada (Penn State Univ.)
14:15 - 14:30
Universe Acceleration by Gravitational Waves Standard Siren and Dark Siren
Rajesh Kumar Dubey (Lovely Professional Univ.)
14:30 - 14:45
Applications of Heun Functions and Regge Theory in Gravitational Wave Astrophysics
Aditya Tamar
14:45 - 15:00
Light Perturbation and Detection of Gravitational Waves via Pulsar Timing Arrays
Dong-Hoon Kim (Seoul National Univ.)
15:00 - 15:15
Gravitational-Wave Constraints on GWTC-2 Events by Measuring Tidal Deformability and Spin-Induced Quadrupole Moment
Tatsuya Narikawa (ICRR)
15:15 - 15:30
Search Sensitivity for Gravitational Waves from Black Hole Capture Events
Michael Ebersold (Univ. of Zurich)
15:30 - 15:45
Probing Diffuse Dark Matter Haloes with Diffractive Lensing of GW
Han Gil Choi (Seoul National Univ.)
15:45 - 16:00 Break Time
16:00 - 18:00 KST Instrument R&D (chair : Nami Uchikata)
16:00 - 16:30
Ponderomotive Squeezing R&D with SIPS
Luca Naticchioni (INFN - Roma)
16:30 - 17:00
Atomic Structure Characterization Research to Find Prospective Coating Materials for GW Detectors
Kyung-Ha Lee (Sungkyunkwan Univ.)
17:00 - 17:30
Prospects for Routine Observations of Intermediate-Mass Black Holes with Gravitational-Wave Observatories
Denis Martynov (Univ. of Birmingham)
17:30 - 17:45
Extract the Degradation Information in Squeezed States with Machine Learning
Ray-Kuang Lee (NTHU)
17:45 - 18:00
High Resolution Microcantilever Based Loss Angle Measurements for Quarter Wavelength and Nanolayered Coating Research
Richard Pedurand (INFN - Salerno)
July 9 (Friday)
Invited Talk Contributed Talk Abstract Presentation File Presentation Video
13:00 - 14:45 KST Data Analysis (chair : Hyung Won Lee)
13:00 - 13:30
Rapid Parameter Estimation of Gravitational Waves from Compact Binary Coalescence
Soichiro Morisaki (Univ. of Wisconsin - Milwaukee)
13:30 - 13:45
GPE: GPU-accelerated Parameter Estimation for Gravitational Waves
Yun-Jing Huang (Academia Sinica)
13:45 - 14:00
Searching Gravitational Wave Signal with Autoregressive Approach
David C. Y. Hui (Chungnam National Univ.)
14:00 - 14:15
Searching for Signals from Ultralight Vector Dark Matter with KAGRA
Yuta Michimura (Univ. of Tokyo)
14:15 - 14:30
Ensemble Empirical Mode Decomposition Applied to Reconstruction of Core-Collapse Supernovae Gravitational-Waves Waveforms
Yuan Yong (Wuhan Univ.)
14:30 - 14:45
Exploring Gravitational-Wave Detection and Parameter Inference using Deep Learning
He Wang (ITP-CAS)
13:00 - 15:00 KST Detchar Special Session (chair : John Oh) (Run in parallel with the main sessions)
13:00 - 13:20
Status of LIGO Detchar
Brennan Hughey (Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University)
13:20 - 13:40
Status of KAGRA DET
Takahiro Yamamoto (ICRR)
13:40 - 13:55
Noise Hunting during KAGRA Commissioning
Hirotaka Yuzurihara (ICRR)
13:55 - 14:10 Break Time
14:10 - 14:25
The Correlation Analysis Based on the Information-Theoretic Measurement Methods
Piljong Jung (NIMS)
14:25 - 14:40
Introduction to Computing Environments at KISTI-GSDC LDG
Sangwook Bae (KISTI)
14:40 - 15:00
Status of Virgo Detchar
Nicolas Arnaud (IJCLab & EGO)
15:00 - 17:15 KST Future Detectors (chair : Helios Vocca)
15:00 - 15:30
Status of the ET Project
Michele Punturo (INFN – Sezione di Perugia)
15:30 - 15:45
Prospects for Observing Multiple Quasinormal Modes with Gravitational Wave Detectors
Iara Ota (Federal Univ. of ABC)
15:45 - 16:00
Second Order Measurements in Interferometric Gravitational Wave Detectors
Chan Park (NIMS)
16:00 - 16:15
Advanced Configurations for a High-Frequency GW Measurement
Kentaro Somiya (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
16:15 - 16:30
A new Instrumented Baffle for Advanced Virgo
Mario Martinez (ICREA/IFAE-Barcelona)
16:30 - 16:45
Investigating Thermal Noise in Gram-Scale Silicon Flexures at 123 K
Johannes Eichholz (ANU)
16:45 - 17:00
Thermal Noise of a Silicon Micro-Cantilever Submitted to a Temperature Contrast over One Hundred
Alex Fontana (Institut Néel, Universit ́e Grenoble Alpes)
17:00 - 17:15
Optimized Ternary Coatings : Design and Performance
Innocenzo M. Pinto (Univ. of Naples, INFN)
17:15 - 17:35 KST Closing (chair : Hyung Mok Lee)
17:15 - 17:25
Announcement of KIW9 in 2022
Hong-Bo Jin (NAO, CAS)
17:25 - 17:35
Closing Remark
Hyung Mok Lee (Seoul National Univ.)

Title

Author(s)

Abstract